Cousin's Luncheonette opened up shop at 2340 S. Hemberger Street way back in 1955, and after 58 years, new owners Jim Lord and William Schmidt felt it was time for a bit of a facelift as well as a new moniker: Cousin's Grubhouse.
In addition to that shiny new paint job, the restaurateurs have updated the food, too, adding 50 items to the menu, all of which sneak in under the $10 mark. The burger list is 10 options long, and they've got the pre-requisite Philly staples like scrapple, fish cake, and, of course, pork roll. As an added bonus, you can still get Philly-famous Levi's Hot Dog's at The Grubhouse, and more sophisticated fare like salted caramel French toast.
The 40-seat dinette features an old-school counter with 8 additional stools, and now offer delivery and take-out for those who want to experience Cousin's Grubhouse on the go. The only downside is that they close up shop around 3 p.m. every day of the week, but are open until 6 on Saturday.